College Notes: May 11

June 1, 2014 

Spring graduates

Joshua Catalano of Clayton has graduated with honors from Chowan University, where he earned a bachelor’s degree in allied health biology. He was an Alpha Chi Scholar.

Four Johnston County have residents have graduated from Methodist University in Fayetteville. They are Kathryn Byrd of Smithfield, Syntina Nesbitt of Micro, Mary Pilkington of Smithfield and Megan Tingler of the Cleveland community.

Miranda Elizabeth Creech of Clayton has graduated from the University of North Carolina at Asheville.

Honor society inducts new members

The Johnston Community College chapter of Phi Theta Kappa has inducted 110 new members. The international honor society is open to students with a grade point of 3.5 or better.

The new JCC members are:

Faith Allen of Newton Grove, Yancy Almeida of Willow Spring, Heven Anderson of Princeton, Melissa Banks of Selma, Christian Barbour of Smithfield, Tabatha Barbour of Benson, Jennifer Baughman of Selma, Alison Beal of Four Oaks, Cameron Bell of Four Oaks, Patricia Bennett of Goldsboro, Shana Black of Spring Lake, Robin Braswell of Clayton.

Rebecca Breece of Smithfield, Brittany Brown of Clayton, Christy Capps of Willow Spring, Antonio Ceras of Willow Spring, Michelle Coats of Clayton, Michael Cody of Garner, Joshua Core of Dunn, Dianna Crigger of Goldsboro, Xochitl Cruz of Dunn, Ryan Cummins of Clayton, Ashleigh Cuomo of Clayton, Krystal Daniel of Dunn, Paula Daniel of Dunn.

Deborah David of Smithfield, Michael Davis of Zebulon, Kristina Dietrich of Clayton, Amber Dunn of Clayton, Nicole Ellison of Goldsboro, Linda Emory of Clayton, Amber Fields of Kenly, Meredith France of Clayton, Maria Franco of Dunn, Kaylee Gabriel of Clayton, Courtney Garcia of Clayton, Bruce Gilbert of Clayton, Matthew Green of Dunn, Gretchen Haislip of Burlington.

Megan Hall of Willow Spring, Lawanda Hall-Davis of Smithfield, Ashley Hardy of Smithfield, Tabitha Holloman of Princeton, Esther Horrer of Clayton, Joshua Howard of Benson, Rebecca Hyatt of Clayton, Micaela Iacono of Clayton, Roberta James of Clayton, Sara Jimenez of Clayton, Tari Johnson of Pine Level, Cheryl Johnson of Benson, Shamira Jones of Garner.

Brenda Kintner of Clayton, Hannah Kline of Clayton, Luther Liles of Garner, Samuel Mathu of Raleigh, Amber May of Princeton, Rachel Maynard of Coats, Deborah McBride of Durham, James McMillen of Smithfield, Jessica Mencia of Smithfield, Wendy Millard of Goldsboro, Latofat Mirzakhmedova of Clayton, Jerilyn Misso of Holly Springs, Jeanne Montgomery of Clayton.

Rachel Moore of Clayton, Marc Moore of Smithfield, Eric Morana of Smithfield, Ty Myatt of Clayton, Wesleigh Neville of Four Oaks, William Nichol of Clayton, Christopher Nolan of Clayton, Ashley Norris of Dunn, Kaylee O’Connell of Clayton, Dylan Odett of Smithfield, Iris Paniagua of Smithfield, Samantha Pittman of Princeton, Bradley Portzer of Smithfield, Bradley Raynor of Smithfield.

Dionicia Richardson of Wendell, Nichole Riddle of Smithfield, McKenna Rider of Clayton, Ashleigh Rigby of Smithfield, Kimberly Robbins of Smithfield, Rebecca Rohrer of Middlesex, Kristin Samples of Clayton, Terianne Sampsel of Clayton, Mary Sampsel of Clayton, Anna Sasser of Smithfield, George Satterfield of Clayton, Meredith Sharp of Lillilngton, Melissa Simonelli of Clayton, Kevin Smith of Clayton, Laura Stanfield of Raleigh.

Atlanta Steagall of Clayton, Nathan Stokes of Zebulon, Kitty Stovall of Durham, Amy Strickland of Erwin, Hunter Summey of Clayton, Michele Thornton of Princeton, Dakota Tillery of Smithfield, Lucas Triba of Clayton, Logan Vann of Smithfield, Kenan Walden of Princeton, Keri Walls of Smithfield, Allexis Walters of Four Oaks, William Ward of Morrisville, Kayden Williamson of Clayton, Dana Willis of Princeton, John Wooten of Dunn, Caitlin Wrench of Dunn and Mason Young of Benson.

Honor society taps 40

The National Technical Honor Society at Johnston Community College has inducted 40 new members. The honor society recognizes the outstanding achievements of vocational and technical students.

The new JCC members are Tabatha Barbour of Benson; Alison Beal of Four Oaks; Brianna Capps of Kenly; Antonio Ceras-Lucas of Willow Spring; Yoel Chumbiriza of Selma; Joshua Core of Dunn; Sarah Creech of Wendell; Dawn Daughtry of Clayton; Deborah David of Smithfield; Gabriela Del Rio Diaz of Newton Grove; Amber Dunn of Clayton; Linda Emory of Clayton; Elizabeth English of Selma; Brandi Gardner of Clayton; Kimberly Gearheart of Clayton; Matthew Green of Dunn; ChiYanna Henry of Selma; Danielle Hobbs of Clayton; Tabitha Holloman of Princeton; Penny Howell of Clayton; Carol Johnson of Selma; Stacy King of Roseboro; Kelsey Kircher of Clayton; Stephanie Knott of Selma; Linda Lampron of Durham; Luther Liles of Garner; Ralph Logan of Dunn; Steven Maybee of Wendell; Andrew Michaels of Wendell; Christie Mitchell of Dudley; Alexander Montgomery of Selma; Nisa Newkirk of Clayton; Catherine Newton of Selma; Samantha Pittman of Princeton; Melissa Pollard of Selma; Jessica Richardson of Youngsville; David Tolson of Lucama; Nancybette Vazquez of Smithfield; Kimberly Watson of Clayton; and Ashley Willis of Benson.

The Clayton News Star is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service